What are the Wyoming Car Seat Laws?
Welcome to the Wyoming Car Seat Law Explained in Simple, Plain English!
If you’re interested in the current car seat laws in Wyoming, you have come to the right place.
I know how confusing legal jargon can be since I was a paralegal before I had my 3 darlings (mostly when they are asleep); I was handling law documents every day.
This is why I’ve put together this short article to show you in simple and easy-to-understand language the car seat laws in Wyoming.
By reading this article to the end, you will find answers about everything regarding car seat laws in this state. Maybe you’re interested in booster seat law, forward rear facing options or taxi laws; I have the answer for them. Dig in and protect your kids to the full.
Let’s get started already!
What Will I Learn?
- What are the Wyoming Car Seat Laws?
- Wyoming Booster Seat Laws
- Wyoming Rear-facing Car Seat Laws
- Wyoming Forward-facing Car Seat Laws
- Wyoming Taxi Car Seat Laws
- When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Wyoming?
- Wyoming Car Seat Laws at a Glance
- What is the law concerning Leaving kids in the Car in Wyoming
- Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Wyoming?
- Conclusions on Wyoming Car Seat Laws
- Are you taking your kids to Montana here’s how you keep them safe on the road
- Before hitting the road to Idaho here are the up to date car seat laws
- Frequently Asked Questions:
- What is the law for booster seats in Wyoming?
- Can a 7-year-old ride without a car seat?
- How old does a child have to be to sit in the front seat in Wyoming?
- Can a 8-year-old ride without a car seat?
- Does Wyoming have a seat belt law?
- How long do you legally have to use a car seat?
- Who is a child passenger safety technician and what can they do?
- What are the exceptions for a child to sit in the front seat?
By reading this article you agree that it’s for informational purposes and I can’t be held liable for the best advice ask the appropriate person.
Wyoming Booster Seat Laws
There’s no clear law about Booster seats in Wyoming. Since all kids below the age of 8 have to be in a car seat, then if your child is older than 8, they could ride without a car seat.
In this case, make sure that the seat belt fits and is secure.
Wyoming Rear-facing Car Seat Laws
Again there’s no clear rule about rear-facing so that we can default to the manufacturer’s recommendations.
Also, most states require rear-facing from 1 to 2 years old. In my book, the longer, the better it is for your child because rear-facing is the safest for every child.
Wyoming Forward-facing Car Seat Laws
In Wyoming, the car seat law is a blanket type one. Everyone below 8 has to be in a car seat. So, in this case, we need to turn to experts and car seat manufacturers.
It’s always safer for your child in rear-facing mode, so you don’t have to rush the forward-facing.
Wyoming Taxi Car Seat Laws
In the state of Wyoming, Taxis and ride-sharing services are not exempt, which means you will need a car seat for your kids. You have two choices you can either bring the car seat yourself or arrange it ahead of time.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Wyoming?
According to the law, all kids in car seats must sit in the back row. If there isn’t a back row, then they can only sit in the front of the airbag that is deactivated.
We can conclude that if an 8-year-old who doesn’t use a car seat can sit in the front. However, experts recommend only kids above 12-13 sit in the front.
Wyoming Car Seat Laws at a Glance
Here you can find the car seat laws entirely for the state of Wyoming:
Car Seat Law (31-5-1303)
Law: This law is quite a mouthful so let’s break it down a bit. All kids under the age of 8 have to be secured with the car seat in the back row. The only exception from this rule will be if the car has a single row or if the back row is occupied with other kids. Also, a very important note is that a rear-facing car seat can’t be put in the front while the airbag is active. You have to disable it first.
- If you happen to have kids who are older than 8 years, then you can use the seat belt only if the seat belt stays in the right place on their body and offers the protection it should during a crash.
Location in car: All kids under the age of 8 have to sit in the back if that’s available.
Taxi: Taxis in Wyoming are not exempt from the car seat laws, so you will have to handle car seats even for ride-sharing services like Uber and Lyft.
RideSafer legal: Yes. The Ride Safer travel vest qualifies for children at least age 3 and 30 pounds.
Fines: $50 for first violation
Seat Belt Law
Law: All passengers have to use a seat belt while traveling.
Fine: $25 for driver; $10 for passengers
RVs: With RVs, the same rules apply. For all passengers, the seat belt is an absolute must, and for kids, the adequate car seat.
What is the law concerning Leaving kids in the Car in Wyoming
Currently, there are no laws governing leaving kids alone in the car. If you want to be careful and avoid child neglect charges, you can either take your child with you or have an older one next to them.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Wyoming?
There are no rules that ban smoking while transporting kids in the car. I strongly advise not to smoke while driving your kids because secondhand smoke has been proven harmful.
Conclusions on Wyoming Car Seat Laws
We have reached the end of this article. By now, you have probably found the answers you have been looking for.
I’ve worked hard to break down that dry law into something usable that even the most tired parent understands. Now it’s your turn to put it to good use.
Maybe I’ve missed something, or maybe you have questions? No problem, send me a message, and I will do my best to get back to you.
Maybe you can help me out by sharing this post so other parents can know exactly how to keep their kids safe and avoid fines in the process. Thank You!
Are you taking your kids to Montana here’s how you keep them safe on the road
There’s a strong chance that the Montana car seat laws will be different from your own state. So you can get up to date info from my post.
Related: Booster seat requirements Utah
Related: What are the Colorado car seat laws
Before hitting the road to Idaho here are the up to date car seat laws
Having a child on board means that you are responsible for their safety so check out the latest Idaho car seat laws so you know what to do.
Frequently Asked Questions:
What is the law for booster seats in Wyoming?
There’s no exact law for booster seats in Wyoming. They only state that kids under 8 have to be in a car seat. So this would mean kids could upgrade to the seat belt when they turn 8. Also check booster seat laws wyoming and booster seat requirements wyoming above.
Can a 7-year-old ride without a car seat?
No, in Wyoming, the minimum age to ride without a car seat is set to 8 years old.
How old does a child have to be to sit in the front seat in Wyoming?
A child has to be more than 8 years old to sit in the front seat. However, experts recommend pushing this number to 12 or even 13.
Can a 8-year-old ride without a car seat?
In Wyoming, an 8-year-old can ride without a car seat if the seat belt fits and keeps them safe.
Does Wyoming have a seat belt law?
Yes in the state of Wyoming everybody needs to use a seat belt, it’s mandatory.
How long do you legally have to use a car seat?
The legality of car seat use is different in every state. However as a general rule a car seat should be used until a child can safely use a seat belt.
Who is a child passenger safety technician and what can they do?
A child passenger safety technician is a certified professional who can help you get the best child restraint system such as rear or forward facing car seats. Besides getting the right child safety restraint system which must obey federal law they have to be properly secured in the motor vehicle. Even the best child safety restraint system won’t offer the best protection if the install isn’t right. So they can teach you how to do it on the rear seat in the passenger vehicle. Also they can explain in detail the seat belt law and child safety seat laws. Plus they offer car seat inspection inside the passenger vehicle after a crash if you need to change the child restraint system. Finally they can advice you on when you can kick the child safety seat (child restraint) and upgrade to the shoulder belt or safety belt in your motor vehicle.
What are the exceptions for a child to sit in the front seat?
If there are other child passengers who would be better protected sitting in the back. Also a safety belt use is mandatory for older kids in the vehicle seat.
Everything mentioned above doesn’t constitute legal advice.
Last Updated on October 27, 2022 by Danny Reid