What are the Utah Car Seat Laws?
Welcome to the Utah Car Seat Law Explained in Simple, Plain English!
Here’s the right place if you want to see all the car seat laws in the state of Utah in a simple-to-understand format.
I used to be a paralegal, so I know how to find the right laws in a jiffy. Plus, I’ve become a mother of 3 lovely angels (at least in their sleep), and I have to be always on the lookout for new changes because we travel a lot.
This is why I’ve decided to put together this article to make it as simple as possible to find what you’re looking for. Plus, I know that many parents who read my blog are severely sleep-deprived, so I’m using simple language.
Now you might be interested in something specific like the booster seat law, or when you can transition from rear-facing to forward-facing or if you need a car seat with a taxi. All this and more are answered below.
Let’s get started already!
What Will I Learn?
- What are the Utah Car Seat Laws?
- Utah Booster Seat Laws
- Utah Rear-facing Car Seat Laws
- Utah Forward-facing Car Seat Laws
- Utah Taxi Car Seat Laws
- When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Utah?
- Utah Car Seat Laws at a Glance
- What is the law concerning Leaving kids in the Car in Utah?
- Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Utah?
- Conclusions on Utah Car Seat Laws
- Are you traveling to Wyoming with your kids?
- If you’re going to Washington state here’s what you need to know about car seat laws?
- Are you taking your kids to Colorado here’s how you keep them safe on the road?
- Frequently Asked Questions:
- What is the booster seat law in Utah?
- How old does a child have to be to sit in the front seat in Utah?
- Can a 5-year-old ride in a backless booster seat?
- Who is a child passenger safety technician and what can they do?
- What are the height and weight limits for booster seats car seats?
- How long should my child ride in car seats in the back seat?
By reading this article you agree that it’s for informational purposes and I can’t be held liable for the best advice ask the appropriate person.
Utah Booster Seat Laws
According to the booster seat laws in the state of Utah, it’s the driver’s responsibility to provide the appropriate car seat for the child. Also, the upper limit for the booster seat is set to either 8 years of age or passing the 57-inch height mark.
Utah Rear-facing Car Seat Laws
The car seat law in Utah is a blanket one which means you need to use your judgment. So for a rear-facing car seat, we have to pick a car seat that is federally approved which means until the age of one, your child should be rear facing.
Other states clearly define that the child should be rear-facing until the age of two. In my book, parents should keep their child rear-facing as long as possible simply because this is the safest way to travel.
Utah Forward-facing Car Seat Laws
Again since the car seat law is a blanket, we need to figure it out for ourselves. If you want the absolute safest option, then keep your child rear-facing until the age of two and only then move them into a forward-facing car seat.
If you need to hurry with the forward-facing, wait at least until the age of one or when your child outgrows their rear-facing car seat.
Utah Taxi Car Seat Laws
In the state of Utah, there’s no exemption for taxis and ride-sharing services, so the car seat law has to be obeyed. This means that you have to bring your own car seat or arrange it ahead of time.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Utah?
There’s no law that would dictate when you can have a child sitting in the front. However, the state of Utah recommends that only kids above the age of 13 sit in the front.
Utah Car Seat Laws at a Glance
Here you can find the entire law in one place:
Car Seat Law (Title 41 Chapter 6a Section 1803 of Utah Code)
Law: The car seat law is as follows:
- If your child is under 8 years old, then the driver has to provide the appropriate car seat following the manufacturer’s recommendations.
- The exception from this rule would be if your child is under the age of 8 but is taller than 57 inches then you need to use the seat belt to secure them.
- Children ages 8 to 16 are required to wear a seat belt.
Location in car: Currently, there’s no law governing where can or can’t a child sit at any age.
Taxi: Taxis are not exempt from the above car seat laws, so you either bring your car seat or arrange one ahead of time with the cab or ride-sharing company.
RideSafer legal: Yes. The Ride Safer travel vest qualifies for children at least age 3 and 30 pounds.
Seat Belt Law
- Law: Everybody riding in the vehicle has to wear a seat belt.
- Fine: $45
- RVs: The RV law follows the car seat law above as in all people in the RV have to wear a seat belt, and for kids, the child car seat laws apply.
What is the law concerning Leaving kids in the Car in Utah?
In the state of Utah, it’s illegal to leave a child (under 9 years old) unattended in the vehicle. There’s an exception if there’s another child who is at least 9 years old.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Utah?
According to the law, it’s illegal to smoke in a car if you’re transporting a child who is younger than 15 years. Also second-hand smoke is a known disease-causing agent.
Conclusions on Utah Car Seat Laws
We have reached the end of this article. I hope you have found what you’ve been looking for. I asked many parents the most important things to them regarding car seat laws and I’ve put that upfront.
In case you have tips or questions no worries, send me a message, and I will do my best to help you out.
Maybe you can help me out by sharing this post so other parents can know exactly how to keep their kids safe and avoid fines in the process. Thank You!
Are you traveling to Wyoming with your kids?
Accidents are unpredictable and by knowing Wyoming car seat laws you will be able to keep your kids safe and sound no matter what happens.
If you’re going to Washington state here’s what you need to know about car seat laws?
The Washington state car seat laws are no joke so it’s a good idea to know them before you start your journey or you risk fines or worse.
Are you taking your kids to Colorado here’s how you keep them safe on the road?
Let it be an infant, toddler or young adult the Colorado car seat laws apply to all of them. You can read them here in an easy to understand fashion.
Frequently Asked Questions:
What is the booster seat law in Utah?
According to the booster seat law in the state of Utah, until the age of 8, all kids have to be in the proper car seat, which means that between the ages of 4 and 8, they should be in a booster seat. The only exception will be if the child is over 57” tall.
How old does a child have to be to sit in the front seat in Utah?
There’s no exact law that would limit the use of the front seat. However, the state of Utah recommends the age of 13 to be the lower limit.
Can a 5-year-old ride in a backless booster seat?
A 5-year-old could sit in a backless booster seat if they manufacturer’s recommendations are considered. If your child is in the right weight and height range, then they can sit in a backless booster seat.
Who is a child passenger safety technician and what can they do?
A child passenger safety technician (car seat safety expert) is a certified professional who can help you choose the right right car seat child restraint system such as rear facing car seats, forward facing car seats, convertible car seat, booster seats. The car seat safety expert can explain the utah car seat laws in details. Plus they can show you how to properly install any child safety seat (child safety seats), booster seats. Finally they can advise when can you upgrade from car seats to lap belt, shoulder belt restrain. The will show you even the safety belt fit test.
What are the height and weight limits for booster seats car seats?
Typically the height and weight limits for booster seats are set by the car seat manufacturer. These numbers are around 57″ and 80 pounds depending on the brand and model. In the state of Utah booster seats have to be used until the age of 8 then kids can upgrade to seat belts like lap belt and shoulder belt in a vehicle seat.
How long should my child ride in car seats in the back seat?
Currently there’s no law regulating how long should a child stay in the back seat in a car seat safety chair. However experts agree that kids younger than 13 years old should sit in the back seat.
Last Updated on May 19, 2022 by Danny Reid