What are the Montana Car Seat Laws?
Welcome to the Montana Car Seat Law Explained in Simple, Plain English!
If you’re looking for the most up-to-date info on car seat law in Montana, you’ve just found it.
I have three kids on my own, and they are a bundle of joy (mostly when they are asleep), so I know how much fun is to look up car seat laws. Plus, these laws are dry and boring and a perfect antidote for insomnia.
This is why I’ve decided to put together this short article and share with you in a simple fashion what the car seat rules are. I’ve used to be a paralegal, so I know how to translate boring laws into something that will help you protect your kids.
No matter your questions, I have all bases covered. Maybe you want to know the booster seat laws, rear and forward-facing recommendations or what’s with taxis I have an answer for all of these and more.
Let’s get started already!
What Will I Learn?
- What are the Montana Car Seat Laws?
- Montana Booster Seat Law
- Montana Rear-facing Car Seat Law
- Montana Forward-facing Car Seat Law
- Montana Taxi Car Seat Law
- When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Montana?
- Montana Car Seat Laws at a Glance
- What is the law concerning Leaving kids in the Car in Montana
- Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Montana?
- Are you traveling from Montana to Wyoming?
- Conclusions on Montana Car Seat Laws
- Frequently Asked Questions:
- What is the car seat law in Montana?
- When can a child sit in the front seat of a car in Montana?
- Can a 6-year-old sit without a booster seat?
- When can a child go without a car seat or booster?
- Who is a child passenger safety technician and what can they do?
- What kind of car seats do you need under 1 years old?
- What kind of car seats do you need for under 2 years old?
- What is the upper height and weight limit for booster car seats?
- What state has the strictest car seat laws?
- How long do you legally have to use a car seat?
By reading this article you agree that it’s for informational purposes and I can’t be held liable for the best advice ask the appropriate person.
Montana Booster Seat Law
There’s no exact booster seat law in the state of Montana. The law says that all kids below the age of 6 have to be in a car seat which would mean that above the age of 6, no booster seat is needed.
However, the latest safety recommendations advise keeping kids in a car seat until the age of 8 or when they reach 57 inches in height.
Montana Rear-facing Car Seat Law
Since the Montana car seat laws are a blanket one, we have to use some logic to figure out what to do with a rear-facing car seat.
There’s nothing defined for rear-facing seats, so we must default to the car seat manufacturer’s recommendations. This means that we should keep our kids rear-facing until they have outgrown the car seat.
It’s suggested to keep kids rear-facing until the age of 1 or even 2. Keep in mind that the longer you can do rear-facing, the safer it is for them.
Montana Forward-facing Car Seat Law
Again we have to look at the manufacturer’s recommendations. Typically forward-facing car seats are for the 2-4 age range.
As soon as your child has outgrown the rear-facing car seat, you can upgrade to the forward-facing one.
Montana Taxi Car Seat Law
I didn’t find any laws about taxis being exempt from the car seat law. This means that you will need a car seat when traveling with your child.
If this is the case, you can bring your own car seat or have it arranged ahead of time.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Montana?
According to the Montana safety car seat law 2022, only 13-year-olds are allowed to sit in the front.
Montana Car Seat Laws at a Glance
Here you can find the entire car seat law in Montana
Car Seat Law (61-9-420)
Law: The law is simple and to the point. All kids under the age of 6 weighing less than 60 pounds have to use a car seat. This car seat needs to match the kids’ weight height according to the manufacturer’s specifications.
Location in car: There’s no law governing where your child can or can’t sit.
Taxi: Taxis in the state of Montana are not exempt from car seat laws, so you have to bring your own or arrange one before your trip by the cab company. Ride-sharing services have to follow this rule as well.
RideSafer legal: Yes. The RideSafer travel vest qualifies for children who are at least age 3 and 30 pounds.
Seat Belt Law
- Law: All passengers need to use a seat belt.
- Fine: $20
- RVs: With RVs, the rules are the same. All passengers need to be strapped in with the seat belt, and for kids, the adequate restraint is required.
What is the law concerning Leaving kids in the Car in Montana
Currently, there’s no law that prohibits leaving a child unattended. If you want to be extra safe, you can have an older child next to a smaller one.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Montana?
There are no laws that ban smoking while transporting children. I strongly suggest that you hold off smoking in the car when driving your child because secondhand smoke is known to cause disease.
Are you traveling from Montana to Wyoming?
If you are check out the latest laws that apply. Here’s my super easy to read and understand article on: What are the Wyoming car seat laws?
If you happen to be going to Washington here you can find all the Washington car seat laws at a glance.
Conclusions on Montana Car Seat Laws
We have reached the end of this article. By now, probably, you have already found the answers you’ve been looking for.
I’ve done my best to translate this text so you can put them to good use without the need to contact your lawyer to explain the rules to you.
I hope you enjoyed our time together, and just in case I’ve missed something or you happen to have questions let me know. I will do my best to reply as soon as possible.
Maybe you can help me out by sharing this post so other parents can know exactly how to keep their kids safe and avoid fines in the process. Thank You!
Also read: Idaho seat belt law
Frequently Asked Questions:
What is the car seat law in Montana?
The car seat law in Montana states that all kids below the age of 6 have to be in a car safety seat. And above the age of six, the seat belt should be used.
When can a child sit in the front seat of a car in Montana?
Looking at the latest laws passed, only from the age of 13 can a child sit in the front.
Can a 6-year-old sit without a booster seat?
In Montana, a 6-year-old can sit without a booster seat if they weigh more than 60 pounds. It’s highly advised to keep your child in a booster seat until the age of 8 or when they reach 57” in height.
When can a child go without a car seat or booster?
In Montana, any child above the age of 6 can go without a booster seat. However, experts recommend that kids be at least 8 years old or have a height of 57 inches.
Who is a child passenger safety technician and what can they do?
A child passenger safety technician is a certified professional who can help you recommend the best child safety restraint let it be a forward facing car seat, child safety seat (car seat safety). Not only that they can help you install any child safety restraint or car seats to it’s nice and tight.
What kind of car seats do you need under 1 years old?
For a child under 1 years old a rear facing safety seat is the best option also known as infant carrier.
What kind of car seats do you need for under 2 years old?
Since car seat safety is the main concern then it’s highly recommended to use a rear facing child safety seat taking into account the height and weight limits.
What is the upper height and weight limit for booster car seats?
For booster car seats the upper height and weight limit would be 57″ or 80 pounds.
What state has the strictest car seat laws?
How long do you legally have to use a car seat?
In Montana you have to legally use a car seat until the age of 6. According to Montana child seat laws until the age of 6 all kids have to use the most appropriate car seat for themselves.
Last Updated on October 27, 2022 by Danny Reid