What are the Idaho Car Seat Laws?
Welcome to the Idaho Car Seat Law Explained in Simple, Plain English!
If you’re looking for the latest car seat laws in the state of Idaho, you are at the right place.
As parents, we must keep our kids safe on the road. I have three darlings (mostly when they are asleep) to protect, and I know how hard it is to find and understand the law.
In my previous life, I was a paralegal, so I had knack for understanding the dry text. I’ve put together this short and to-the-point article so you know exactly what the requirements are to keep your kids safe on the road and avoid fines.
I’m not only breaking down complex words into simple and digestible chunks, but I will share with you everything there’s to know about booster seats, forward-rear facing, when can a child sit in the front and if taxis are exempt from the car seat law.
No matter what, you will find the answers to your questions.
Let’s get started already!
What Will I Learn?
- What are the Idaho Car Seat Laws?
- Idaho Booster Seat Laws
- Idaho Rear-facing Car Seat Laws
- Idaho Forward-facing Car Seat Laws
- Idaho Taxi Car Seat Laws
- When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Idaho?
- Idaho Car Seat Laws at a Glance
- What is the law concerning Leaving kids in the Car in Idaho?
- Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Idaho?
- Conclusions on Idaho Car Seat Laws
- Are you thinking about visiting Montana?
- Do you have children with you when traveling to Utah?
- If you are going to Wyoming, here is some information about car seat laws
- Frequently Asked Questions:
- When can a child go without a car seat or booster?
- How much does a child have to weigh to sit on a booster seat?
- Do 5 year olds need a car seat?
- At how many years old can you use a forward facing car seat as a child safety seat?
- According to idaho car seat laws how long can I use rear facing car seat or child safety seat?
- When is the right time to upgrade car seats to seat belts?
- What is the Idaho seat belt law?
- Are Idaho child seat belt laws strict?
- When can a child sit in the front seat idaho?
- What are the booster seat requirements in Idaho?
By reading this article you agree that it’s for informational purposes and I can’t be held liable for the best advice ask the appropriate person.
Idaho Booster Seat Laws
There’s no specific booster seat law in the state of Idaho. The only reference is that below the age of 6, the car seat is mandatory, and above it, you can use the seat belt.
Now, if you want to be extra cautious, I highly recommend keeping your child in the booster seat until they reach 57 inches. This way, you know they are safe.
Idaho Rear-facing Car Seat Laws
Again the law is quite broad, so if you want to keep your little one safe, make sure you keep them rear-facing as long as possible. Typically 2 years of age is the first time you should consider moving them in a forward-facing position; however the longer they are in rear-facing the safer they are.
Also, besides looking at their age always check the weight and height limit of the car seat and adjust accordingly.
Idaho Forward-facing Car Seat Laws
Forward-facing can be used after the age of 2 or after the rear-facing seat has been outgrown either in weight or height.
I can’t stress this enough the longer you’re having your kids in rear-facing mode, the safer they are.
Idaho Taxi Car Seat Laws
The car seat laws are for non-commercial vehicles. So taxis in the state of Idaho are exempt from the car seat laws; this includes ride-sharing services.
If you want to be on the safe side, then make sure you bring your car seat because you never know.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Idaho?
There’s no current law saying when a child can sit in the front. Experts from the Idaho Transportation Department recommend that only those kids should be sitting in the front who can comfortably use the seat belt, and this happens around the age of 12-13.
Idaho Car Seat Laws at a Glance
Here’s the entire law for car seats in one place:
Car Seat Law (title 49 Chap 6 Section 49-672)
Law: According to the law, all kids under 6 years old have to use the appropriate safety car seat that follows the federal motor vehicle safety standard number 213 paragraphs
- There are a few exceptions from it, such as if all seat belts are in use, then the child has to be in one of the rear seats.
- Also, a child can be removed from the safety restrained if there’s an immediate need to solve a physiological need like breastfeeding. However, this is risky both for the adult and the child as well.
Location in car: There are no specifications on where a child can and can’t sit, so it’s up to your judgment on picking the safest spot.
Taxi: In the state of Idaho, all taxis and ride-sharing services are exempt from the car seat law. However, I strongly suggest using a car seat because you can’t predict accidents.
RideSafer legal: Yes. The Ride Safer travel vest qualifies for children who are at least age 3 and 30 pounds.
Seat Belt Law
- Law: According to the law, all passengers have to wear a seat belt
- Fine: $10; $51.50 for drivers under 18
- RVs: The RV law follows the standard seat belt law meaning all passengers have to wear the seat belt. And for kids, they have to use the appropriate child restraint.
What is the law concerning Leaving kids in the Car in Idaho?
There are no laws forbidding parents from leaving kids unattended in the vehicle. However, it’s always safer to have them with you.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Idaho?
In Idaho, there’s no law forbidding smoking in the car while transporting kids. I strongly suggest holding off smoking because it’s known that secondhand smoke can cause serious illnesses.
Conclusions on Idaho Car Seat Laws
We have reached the end of this article. I hope you have found all the answers you’ve been looking for.
You see, I’ve done my best to explain the law in simple terms that even the most sleep-deprived parent understands.
If you happen to have questions, or maybe I’ve missed something, let me know to correct it.
Maybe you can help me out by sharing this post so other parents can know exactly how to keep their kids safe and avoid fines in the process. Thank You!
Are you thinking about visiting Montana?
You will want to make sure you are familiar with the Montana car seat laws for your state. Each state has different rules on how to keep your kids safe while driving.
Do you have children with you when traveling to Utah?
It’s our responsibility as safety conscious parents to be aware of and follow all Utah car seat laws while traveling out of state.
If you are going to Wyoming, here is some information about car seat laws
The Wyoming car seat laws are not to be taken lightly, therefore it’s a good idea to familiarize yourself with them before you begin your trip. You risk penalties or worse if you don’t know them.
Frequently Asked Questions:
When can a child go without a car seat or booster?
In Idaho, the law doesn’t say it precisely; however if we look at the Idaho Transportation Department, they recommend the booster seat to be used between the ages of 4 and 8 or until they reach 57 inches.
How much does a child have to weigh to sit on a booster seat?
The weight requirement for a booster seat is 40 pounds. So if your child has outgrown their forward-facing car seat and weighs more than 40 pounds, you can use a booster seat.
Do 5 year olds need a car seat?
Yes 5 year olds need a car seat that obeys federal motor vehicle safety ratings according to the idaho transportation department.
At how many years old can you use a forward facing car seat as a child safety seat?
According to the idaho car seat laws there are no set age when you can use forward facing car seat. After your child has outgrown their rear facing car seat usually at 4 years old by maxing the height and weight limits of the rear facing car seat (child passenger safety)
According to idaho car seat laws how long can I use rear facing car seat or child safety seat?
According to the law there’s no exact age saying that you have to be this many years old. It’s left to you and see if your child has exceeded the height and weight limits for the rear facing car seat (child safety seat).
When is the right time to upgrade car seats to seat belts?
Typically around the age of 6 you can upgrade from car seats to seat belts but first always check if the height and weight limits are maxed out.
What is the Idaho seat belt law?
The Idaho seat belt law requires that all passengers in a car wear a seat belt. This includes both the driver and passengers in the front and back seats of the car. Fines may be issued for those who do not comply with this law.
Are Idaho child seat belt laws strict?
The Idaho child seat belt laws are not as strict as some other states. Fines may be issued for those who do not comply with this law.
When can a child sit in the front seat idaho?
A child can sit in the front seat of a car when they are 13 years old or older. This is according to the Idaho Transportation Department.
What are the booster seat requirements in Idaho?
The booster seat requirements in Idaho are that all children under the age of 8 must use a booster seat.
Last Updated on June 26, 2022 by Danny Reid