What are the Kansas Car Seat Laws?
Welcome to the Kansas Car Seat Law Explained in Simple, Plain English!
You have found the perfect spot where you can brush up on the car seat laws in the state of Kansas.
Being a mother of three who’s traveling a lot, I have to know the car seat laws in many states. Plus, I used to be a paralegal, so I know myself around legal jargon.
This is why I’ve put together this short and to-the-point article to bring you up to speed with car seat laws. Many parents who read my blog are severely sleep-deprived, so I’m using the easiest-to-understand language.
No matter your questions about car seats, I have all bases covered. Maybe you want to know the current booster seat laws, or when you can switch from rear to forward-facing or if you need a car seat in a taxi; I have answered all of these and more.
Let’s get started already!
By reading this article you agree that it’s for informational purposes and I can’t be held liable for the best advice ask the appropriate person.
Kansas Booster Seat Laws
According to the booster seat law in the state of Kansas, you can use a booster seat from the age of 4 all the way up to the age of 8. If your child weighs more than 80 pounds to is taller than 57 inches, then you can upgrade to the seat belt.
Kansas Rear-facing Car Seat Laws
According to the law, any child under the age of 4 should use the appropriate car seat. This means you need to follow the manufacturer’s recommendations.
All in all, I highly recommend keeping kids rear-facing until the age of 2 because that’s the safest way for them to ride.
Kansas Forward-facing Car Seat Laws
There’s no exact law when using a forward-facing car seat. According to the law, it should happen anytime between 1 and 4 years old.
I personally wouldn’t rush the forward-facing mode because rear-facing offers the most protection for our little ones.
Kansas Taxi Car Seat Laws
According to the law in the state of Kansas, taxis and ride-sharing services are not exempt from car seat rules.
This means that you will have to either provide the car seat or arrange it by the company ahead of time.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Kansas?
There’s no exact law that would dictate when a child can sit in the front seat. Experts agree on one thing, though, that the older the child, the safer it is to sit in the front.
In some states, only kids above the age of 12-13 are allowed to sit in the front, while in other states, lower ages are permitted if the seat belt fits and protects them.
Kansas Car Seat Laws at a Glance
Here you can find the entire law in one place:
Car Seat Law (KSA 8-1343)
Law: If your child is younger than 4 years of age has to be secured with the appropriate car seat that meets or exceeds FMVSS 213.
- Suppose your child is between 4 and 8 while weighs less than 80 pounds and is shorter than 57” then you have to secure him with the proper car seat that meets or exceeds FMVSS 213.
- If your child is older than 8, then you can use the car’s seat belt to secure them.
Location in car: There are no specifications on where a child can and can’t sit at a certain age.
Taxi: Taxis are NOT exempt from the above car seat laws, so you have to bring your own car seat or arrange it ahead of time.
RideSafer legal: Yes. The Ride Safer travel vest qualifies for children at least age 3 and 30 pounds.
Seat Belt Law
- Law: All passengers in the front have to wear a seat belt and all kids from the ages of 14 to 17.
- Fine: $30; $60 for passengers ages 14 to 17
- RVs: RV seat belt law is the same as the regular law as in front passengers have to wear the seatbelt and car seat laws apply as described above.
What is the law concerning Leaving kids in the Car in Kansas?
There’s no concrete law governing if you can or can’t leave a child alone in the vehicle. To be on the safe side, you can take your child with you or have a 12-year-old or older watch over them.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Kansas?
The state of Kansas is quite diverse on the smoking matter. According to the Kansas Indoor Clean Air Act, there are no restrictions on smoking in cars while kids are present. However, it’s illegal to smoke in a taxi.
Certain parts of Kansas have banned smoking, so your best choice is to contact your local health department.
Conclusions on Kansas Car Seat Laws
We have reached the end of this article, and I hope you have already found the answers you’ve been looking for.
I’ve done my best to break down lawyer talk that anyone can understand, even if their babies have been keeping them all night for weeks on end.
If you have questions or observations, please reach out to me, and I will do my best to reply.
Maybe you can help me out by sharing this post so other parents can know exactly how to keep their kids safe and avoid fines in the process. Thank You!
If you are going to Missouri, here is some information about car seat laws
There are different ways that different states keep kids safe on the road. You can find the latest Missouri car seat laws explained in simple English, no matter what state you live in.
Here are some tips on how to keep your kids safe when you are driving to Oklahoma
The Oklahoma car seat laws apply to all infants, toddlers, and young adults. You can read about them here in an easy-to-read format.
Related: When can a child sit in front seat Nevada?
Frequently Asked Questions:
What is the car seat law in Kansas?
The car seat law in Kansas says the following: kids under the age of 4 have to use the appropriate federally approved car seat, kids between 4-8 have to use a car seat that is the right fit. It’s federally approved, plus kids over the age of 8 or those who are taller than 57” or weigh more than 80 pounds can ride with only the seat belt.
When can a child stop using a car seat in Kansas?
In the state of Kansas, children can stop using a car seat when they reach the age of 8 or weigh more than 80 pounds, or they are taller than 57 inches.
How much does a kid have to weigh to sit in the front seat in Kansas?
There’s no exact law or weight requirement which would determine if a child can sit in the front or not. Above the age of 8 or weighing more than 80 pounds would mean no car seat needed.
What are the height and weight requirements for a booster seat?
The minimum weight requirements for booster seats vary from brand to brand and product to product. However, the most common number is 40 to 65 pounds. The upper height limit for booster seats would be 57 inches.
Can a children under the age of 5 use a booster seat?
Yes a children under the age 5 can use a booster seat. Typically after the age of 4 kids can transition into a booster seat (child safety seat). Although the law says that after 4 years old you need to get a new seat they also mention that it has to be an appropriate child passenger safety. Since all kids are growing differently it means that a forward facing child safety seat would offer more protection than a booster seat.
When can I upgrade from a rear facing car seat to a forward facing child safety seat?
Typically around the age of 2 you can upgrade from rear facing car seats to forward facing child passenger safety seat. And after this the booster seat is the next stage. Also don’t rush the upgade of the child restraint (safety restraint) because you should always stick with what gives the most protection. It’s well known that a rear facing safety restraint on the back seat offers the most protection possible. When your little one has outgrown their infant carrier choose the rear facing car seats to provide as much as possible protection in the motor vehicle. Until 2 years old they should be riding in the back seat. All in all rear facing car seats offer the most protection possible so go with them on the long run.
When can my child move from the back seat to the front?
There’s no exact law in this state that would tell you the age when a child can move from the back seat to the front. I know the back seat isn’t the most comfortable place to install the safety restraint yet it’s the safest one. In some states only 12 years old and above can move from the back seat when they can safely use the shoulder belt. The safest position on the back seat where you should install a rear facing car seat or even a booster seat is in the middle.
Last Updated on May 31, 2022 by Danny Reid