What are the Nevada Car Seat Laws?
Welcome to the Nevada Car Seat Law Explained in Simple, Plain English!
If you are looking for the latest car seat laws in the state of Nevada, you have found the perfect place.
Being a mother of 3 perfect little angels (when they are asleep, mostly), I know how hard it is to keep track of all the laws and regulations. Maybe you are traveling? Then things get even more complicated. So this is why I decided to create this article.
Before the kids, I was a paralegal, so I know the lawyer talk. I also know that there are many sleep-deprived parents reading my blog, so I’ve made it easy to read and understand. I bet this is the only article that is parent-friendly
Now you might be interested in booster seat law, or rear and forward-facing rules, or maybe even if taxis are exempt, then you will find the answers to all these questions and then some.
Let’s get started already!
What Will I Learn?
- What are the Nevada Car Seat Laws?
- Nevada Booster Seat Law
- Nevada Rear-facing Car Seat Law
- Nevada Forward-facing Car Seat Law
- Nevada Taxi Car Seat Law
- When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Nevada?
- Nevada Car Seat Laws at a Glance
- What is the law concerning Leaving kids in the car in Nevada?
- Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Nevada?
- Conclusions on Nevada Car Seat Laws
- Are you taking your kids to California – here’s how you keep them safe on the road
- Frequently Asked Questions:
- When can a child face forward in a car seat in Nevada?
- Can an 8-year-old ride without a car seat?
- At what age does a child not have to use a car seat?
- What is the weight for a booster seat?
- When can a child sit in the front seat in Nevada?
- How long should booster seats be used?
- What’s the fine for breaking the nevada car seat laws?
- How old do you have to be to sit in the front seat in Nevada?
- Are NV car seat laws different from other states?
- How tall for front seat legal Nevada?
By reading this article you agree that it’s for informational purposes and I can’t be held liable for the best advice ask the appropriate person.
Nevada Booster Seat Law
The booster law is a bit strange in the state of Nevada. Until the age of 6, kids and their height being under 57 inches have to use the proper car seat.
However, other states require the booster seat until the age of 8.
In Nevada, if your child is 6 years old, they can be secured with a seat belt thus, there’s no need for a booster seat. In my book, it’s better to keep your child in the booster seat longer because it’s safer.
Nevada Rear-facing Car Seat Law
In Nevada, the law is clear until the age of 2, your child has to be in a rear-facing car seat.
What if they outgrow the infant carrier and are no way near the age of two? Then you have to choose a convertible car seat that offers rear-facing. We all know that rear-facing is the safest way for kids to ride, so keep them like that as long as possible.
There are car seats that offer extended rear-facing just for this need.
Until the age of 2, all kids should be in the back row; if something comes up, then you can move them in the front only after you have deactivated the airbag.
Nevada Forward-facing Car Seat Law
According to the law, all kids under the age of two have to be in rear-facing mode, and after that, you can choose forward-facing.
So between the age of 6 or until they reach 57 inches, they have to be in a forward-facing car seat. Once they reach either of the milestones, they can upgrade the seat belt.
Nevada Taxi Car Seat Law
In the state of Nevada, taxis are exempt from the car seat rules. This means that you have to bring your own car seat if you want to offer the best protection possible for your child.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Nevada?
The law states that kids under the age of two should be in the back and if something comes up, they can move to the front if the airbag is disabled.
So there’s no law dictating if a child can sit in the front after the age of 2. According to the Nevada Department of Transportation, kids should be sitting in the front only after the age of 12, although this is just a recommendation.
Nevada Car Seat Laws at a Glance
Here you can find the entire law in one place:
Car Seat Law (NRS 484B.157)
Law: If your child is younger than 6-years-old and their height is below 57 inches, they have to be secured by a federally approved and appropriate car seat.
- If your child is younger than 2 years, they have to sit in a rear-facing car seat in the back seat. Now they can sit in the front of the airbag is deactivated, and they have special healthcare needs that a doctor has signed for, or if all the seats are occupied by younger kids or if there are no back seats.
- If your child is older than 6, then they can sit both in the front, and the back, and they have to be secured by the seat belt.
Location in car: All kids under the age of two have to be in the back seat.
Taxi: Taxis are exempt from the above car seat laws. However, it’s good to have the car seat with you because you never know what will happen.
RideSafer legal: Yes. The Ride Safer travel vest qualifies for children at least age 3 and 30 pounds.
Fines: $100 to $500 for the first offense
Seat Belt Law
- Law: All people riding in the car must wear a seat belt.
- Fine: $25
- RVs: The RV law follows the standard car seat law, so all people require a seat belt, and kids need an adequate car seat.
What is the law concerning Leaving kids in the car in Nevada?
In the state of Nevada, it is illegal and considered a misdemeanor to leave a child under the age of 7 in the car unattended. It is acceptable to have a child of at least 12 years old next to a younger one.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Nevada?
Currently, there’s no law regulating smoking in vehicles while having kids on board. I highly recommend holding off smoking because second-hand smoking harms kids.
Conclusions on Nevada Car Seat Laws
We have reached the end of this article. I hope you have found the answers you’ve been looking for.
I’ve done my best to create a simple and straight-to-the-point article. Now, I might’ve missed something, or maybe you have questions, then feel free to reach out.
Maybe you can help me out by sharing this post so other parents can know exactly how to keep their kids safe and avoid fines in the process. Thank You!
Are you taking your kids to California – here’s how you keep them safe on the road
There’s a strong chance that the California car seat laws will be different from your own state. So you can get up to date info from my post.
Related State: Idaho booster seat laws
Frequently Asked Questions:
When can a child face forward in a car seat in Nevada?
According to the law in Nevada, a child can be in a forward-facing car seat if they are older than 2 years. If they are younger, then they have to be in a rear-facing car seat.
Can an 8-year-old ride without a car seat?
Yes, in the state of Nevada, a child can ride without a car seat after the age of 6 or when they reach 57 inches in height. In these cases, you secure them with the seat belt.
At what age does a child not have to use a car seat?
In the state of Nevada, a child will not need a car seat once they reach the age of 6 or they are taller than 57 inches.
What is the weight for a booster seat?
The lower weight limit for the booster seat is 40 to 65 pounds depending on the brand and manufacturer.
When can a child sit in the front seat in Nevada?
According to the law and the nevada department of Transportation kids below 2 years old have to sit in the back seat and also remain rear facing during this period even if they are in a convertible car seat. After this age they can move to the front seat however experts advise only kids above the age of 13 year old should.
How long should booster seats be used?
Booster seats are like any child restraint system so the manufacturer has a maximum weight and height limit set. In Nevada a booster type child seat or harnessed car seat can be used until the age of 6 above that the safety belt or seat belts have to be used according to child seat laws in a motor vehicle. Typically these car seats are used the longest period of time before the safety belt.
What’s the fine for breaking the nevada car seat laws?
Breaking the nevada law (car seat laws) means that you either have to pay a monetary fine or community service.
You might also like: Oregon booster seat laws
How old do you have to be to sit in the front seat in Nevada?
According to the law and the Nevada Department of Transportation, kids below 2 years old have to sit in the back seat and also remain rear-facing during this period, even if they are in a convertible car seat. After this age, they can move to the front seat; however, experts advise only kids above the age of 13 years old.
Are NV car seat laws different from other states?
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), car seat laws vary from state to state. Make sure you check the specific laws of the state you are traveling to, so you can be sure your child is properly restrained.
How tall for front seat legal Nevada?
There is no specified height requirement for sitting in the front seat in the state of Nevada. However, experts advise that only kids above the age of 13 years should sit in the front seat, as they are big enough to be properly restrained by a seat belt.
Last Updated on June 27, 2022 by Danny Reid