What are the Oklahoma Car Seat Laws?
Welcome to the Oklahoma Car Seat Law Explained in Simple, Plain English!
If you want to know what the exact laws for car seats are in the state of Oklahoma, you have just found the perfect place for it.
Many parents who read my blog are sleep deprived, so I know they will value that I simply understand language and not law jargon explaining stuff.
Being a mom of 3, I have to be top of my game regarding car seat laws because we travel a lot.
This is why I’ve put together this short article to explain is easy to digest chunks everything there’s to know about car seat laws.
Maybe you want to know about the current booster seat laws, or maybe you want to know when a child can sit in the front or if taxis are exempt from the car seat laws; no worries, I’ve got everything covered below. Dig in!
Let’s get started already!
By reading this article you agree that it’s for informational purposes and I can’t be held liable for the best advice ask the appropriate person.
Oklahoma Booster Seat Laws
According to the law, when a child has outgrown their forward-facing car seat, they can be upgraded to a booster seat. In the state of Oklahoma, the booster seat is mandatory until the age of 8 or when they reach 57” in height.
Oklahoma Rear-facing Car Seat Laws
Kids under the age of 2 have to be secured in a rear-facing car seat. They have to be rear-facing either by the age of 2 or reach the maximum allowed weight and height limit.
Oklahoma Forward-facing Car Seat Laws
According to the law, kids under the age of 4 should be restrained in the proper seat, which would be the forward-facing car seat. A child can be upgraded from rear-facing after the age of two.
So after interpretations, a child can be sitting in a forward-facing car seat between the ages of 2 and 4.
Oklahoma Taxi Car Seat Law
In the state of Oklahoma, taxis are exempt from the above-mentioned car seat laws. If you want to be extra safe, I highly recommend bringing your car seat for the ride.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Oklahoma?
There are no exact laws that dictate when a child can sit in the front. If we take a look at expert recommendations, most agree that around the age of 12-13 can, a child sits in the front.
Oklahoma Car Seat Laws in a Glance
Here you can find the entire law at one place:
Car Seat Law (47.11-1112)
Law: According to the law, all kids under the age of 8 must be properly secured by meeting the federal safety standard presented by FMVSS213.
- If you have a child under the age of 2, you have to secure them with a rear-facing car seat. They have to stay in the rear-facing car seat until they either reach the age of 2 or weight, height limit set by the manufacturer.
- Suppose your child is younger than 4 years old, then you need to get the appropriate car seat which would be a forward-facing one.
- If your child is between the ages of 4 and 8 and hasn’t reached the height of 57 inches, they have to use a booster seat.
- Now, if your child is either older than 8 years old or taller than 57” inches then you can upgrade to the seat belt for protection.
Location in the car: There are no specifics when a child can sit in the front seat.
Taxi: In the state of Oklahoma, taxis are exempt from the above-mentioned car seat laws. If you want to get the most protection for your kids, then bring your own car seat.
RideSafer legal: Yes. The Ride Safer travel vest qualifies for children who are at least age 3 and 30 pounds.
Seat Belt Law
- Law: The law states that all occupants in the front have to wear a seat belt.
- Fine: $20
- RVs: The RV seat belt law is the same as the general law, which means all occupants in the front have to wear a seat belt, and for kids, the car seat laws apply.
What is the law concerning Leaving kids in the Car in Oklahoma?
According to the law in the state of Oklahoma, it’s illegal to leave a child under the age of 6 unattended in a vehicle. The only exception will be if at least a 12-year-old is next to them.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Oklahoma?
There are no laws that would prohibit smoking next to children. However, I strongly suggest holding off smoking because secondhand smoke can cause disease.
Conclusions on Oklahoma Car Seat Laws
We have reached the end of this article. I hope you have found all the answers you’ve needed. I did my best to translate dry and boring law into something actionable and easy to remember.
If you happen to have any other questions feel free to contact me, and I will get back to you as soon as possible.
Maybe you can help me out by sharing this post so other parents can know exactly how to keep their kids safe and avoid fines in the process. Thank You!
Are you planning a trip to Texas?
It’s your responsibility as a parent to know the Texas car seat laws to keep your kids safe. I’ve done my best to get you the newest laws.
Frequently Asked Questions:
What is the law for booster seats in Oklahoma?
The booster seat law in the state of Oklahoma says that all kids between the ages of 4 and 8 have to be in a booster seat. They have to use the booster seat either until they are 8 or reach 57 inches in height.
What age can a child sit in the front seat in Oklahoma?
There’s no law mentioning at what age a child could sit in the front. However, according to the AAP’s recommendation, only kids above the age of 13 should be sitting in the front.
When can babies face forward in 2021?
In the state of Oklahoma, babies can face forward when they have reached the age of 2 or have reached the maximum weight and height limits of their rear-facing car seats.
What is the height and weight of a booster seat?
Typically the minimum weight limit for the booster seat is around 40 pounds. The upper limit depends on brands an models. It can be as low as 80 pounds or as high as 100 pounds. The upper height limit is set to 57”.
Who is a child passenger safety technician and what can they do?
A child passenger safety technician is a certified professional who can help you pick the right child passenger restraint system let it be an infant car seat, convertible car seat, child booster seat (car seats). They can also explain the child passenger safety laws. Plus they can show you how to install booster seats and a convertible car seat.
How can you get a free car seat?
The oklahoma highway safety office is giving away a free car seat for families with limited means. Also you can check the oklahoma car seat programs (car seat program) for free car seats program to prevent car accidents.
How long should my child use the back seat?
There’s no exact law how long should your child use the back seat. It’s is known that car seats in the back offer more protection in the front and car seat technology changes frequently. Also experts agree that only kids who don’t need car seats should sit in front. The advice says that over 13 years old should be in the front.
Last Updated on May 19, 2022 by Danny Reid