What are the Arkansas Car Seat Laws?
Welcome to the Arkansas Car Seat Law Explained in Simple, Plain English!
You have found the right place if you want to brush up on the latest car seat laws in the state of Arkansas.
Since we’re traveling a lot, I have to look up the car seat laws frequently. Plus, I have 3 adorable angles (only while they sleep), so I have no choice in the matter. Luckily I used to be a paralegal before my kids, so it’s easy for me to find and interpret the law.
I know there are many sleep-deprived parents on my website, so I’ve decided to create this article using simple words, so you will know exactly how to keep your kids safe and avoid those hefty fines.
No matter what you’re looking for, I probably have the answer below. Maybe you’re interested in the booster seat law, or maybe you want to know the rear-forward facing car seat situation, or you have to know if taxis are exempt? Then you will find the answers below.
Let’s get started already!
What Will I Learn?
- What are the Arkansas Car Seat Laws?
- Arkansas Booster Seat Laws
- Arkansas Rear-facing Car Seat Laws
- Arkansas Forward-facing Car Seat Laws
- Arkansas Taxi Car Seat Laws
- When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Arkansas?
- Arkansas Car Seat Laws at a Glance
- What is the law concerning Leaving kids in the Car in Arkansas?
- Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Arkansas?
- Conclusions on Arkansas Car Seat Laws
- Frequently Asked Questions:
- What are the booster seat laws in Arkansas?
- When can a child ride in the front seat in Arkansas?
- How old does a child have to be to not use a car seat?
- Can a 6-year-old ride without a car seat?
- What do arkansas car seat laws say about booster seats (booster car seats)?
- Where can I find the child passenger protection act?
- When can a baby face forward in a car seat in Arkansas?
- Can a 7 year old sit in the front seat in Arkansas?
- What age can child use booster seat?
By reading this article you agree that it’s for informational purposes and I can’t be held liable for the best advice ask the appropriate person.
Arkansas Booster Seat Laws
According to the booster seat law in Arkansas, all kids under the age of 6 or weighing under 60 pounds need to be in the appropriate car seat. This would mean a booster seat.
Now According to Arkansas State Police Highway Patrol Division, they advise keeping kids in a booster seat until the age of 8 or they reach the height of 57 inches.
Arkansas Rear-facing Car Seat Laws
There’s no exact law on how long you should keep your child in rear-facing, however, some states require until the age of 1 and others the age of 2.
We all know that rear-facing is the safest way for our little ones to ride, so make sure you use it as long as possible. I highly recommend the age of two or longer.
Arkansas Forward-facing Car Seat Laws
Again for this section, there’s no accurate law, so you have to rely on the manufacturer’s recommendations. This means that after your child has outgrown the rear-facing seat, you can choose the forward facing one.
Arkansas Taxi Car Seat Laws
In the state of Arkansas, are exempt from the car seat laws mentioned above. However, they mention that the taxies or ride-sharing vehicles have to give enough time for you to install your car seat properly.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Arkansas?
There’s no law dictating when a child should sit in the front seat if we look at neighboring states, they recommend kids who are older than 12-13 years old.
Arkansas Car Seat Laws at a Glance
Here you can find the entire law in one place:
Car Seat Law (Arkansas Code 27-34-104)
Law: All kids under the age of 15 have to be properly secured in the vehicle with the appropriate car seat or seat belt.
- If your child is younger than 6 and weighs less than 60 pounds (less than sixty pounds), they need to use the appropriate child safety car seat.
- If your child is above 60 pounds and at least 6 years of age and less than 15, they can be secured with the seat belt
Location in car: There are no specifications on where a child car seat should be.
Taxi: Taxis are exempt from the above car seat laws. This doesn’t mean it’s the safest option, so if you want to be worry-free, bring your car seat with you.
RideSafer legal: Yes. The Ride Safer travel vest qualifies for children at least age 3 and 30 pounds.
Fines: $25 to $100
Arkansas Seat Belt Law
- Law: All passengers in the front have to wear a seat belt.
- Fine: $25
- RVs: The RV law follows the car seat law from above as in all front passengers need to wear a seat belt, and for kids, the car seat laws apply.
What is the law concerning Leaving kids in the Car in Arkansas?
There’s no law governing if you can leave a child unsupervised in the car. However, there were 17 deaths between 1998-2018 because children were left alone on hot summer days. Also, there were convictions in these cases because of neglect.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Arkansas?
According to the Arkansas Protection from Secondhand Smoke for Children Act of 2006 Section 20-27-1903 it is illegal to smoke in front of a child under the age of 14. Second-hand smoke is known for causing illness.
Conclusions on Arkansas Car Seat Laws
We have reached the end of this article. I bet you have already found the answers you’ve been looking for.
I’ve done my best to provide you with the most up-to-date info and avoid lawyer talk. I know that most people get bored of the dry language of the law. That’s why I’ve helped out.
If I happened to miss something or you have questions, then let me know, and I will do my best to help you out.
Maybe you can help me out by sharing this post so other parents can know exactly how to keep their kids safe and avoid fines in the process. Thank You!
Also see: Mississippi booster seat laws
Related: Booster seat requirements Louisiana
Frequently Asked Questions:
What are the booster seat laws in Arkansas?
According to booster seat laws in the state of Arkansas, after the age of 6 or reaching 60 pounds, a child can go without a booster seat. However, the safest recommendation would be the age of 8 or reaching the height of 57”.
When can a child ride in the front seat in Arkansas?
There’s no law when a child can sit in the front. The only law that is related to this is if a child is older than 6 or weighs more than 60 pounds, then they can use the seat belt.
However, neighboring states recommend 12-13 years of age if a child wants to sit in the front.
How old does a child have to be to not use a car seat?
In the state of Arkansas, after the age of 6 or weighing more than 60 pounds is the limit when a child won’t need a car seat.
Can a 6-year-old ride without a car seat?
Yes, in the state of Arkansas, a child above the age of 6 can ride without a car seat.
What do arkansas car seat laws say about booster seats (booster car seats)?
According to arkansas car seat laws booster seats (booster car seats) if the child is under six and weighs less than sixty pounds they need to use the appropriate child passenger safety seat (child passenger safety seats, child safety seat). In our case it would be the booster seats. These car seats as in booster seats can be secured with seat belts (car’s seat belt), or shoulder belt. Also what the car seat laws in arkansas say is that a safety belt properly secured to the vehicle is sufficient to protect in a car accident. Yes even the backless booster car seats are considered as a child safety seat. So yes this is what we get from the seat laws in arkansas.
Where can I find the child passenger protection act?
The child passenger protection act can be easily found searching it online. Car seats in law documents are reference as a child passenger restraint system or child passenger safety seat. Fines can be also found under the child passenger protection act. The child passenger restraint system or child passenger safety seat can be secured by the car’s seat belt (seat belts).
When can a baby face forward in a car seat in Arkansas?
According to Arkansas child seat laws 2022 there’s no specifics so in this case we have to rely on manufacturer’s recommendations. In this case as soon as your baby has outgrown their rear-facing car seat they can upgrade.
Can a 7 year old sit in the front seat in Arkansas?
Yes, according to Arkansas carseat laws there’s no rule when a child can sit in the front seat. However it’s advised to wait until the age of 12-13.
What age can child use booster seat?
According to booster seat requirements Arkansas children below the age of 6 have to be in a proper car seat (booster seat). However the state police recommends the age of 8.
Last Updated on October 29, 2022 by Danny Reid