What are the Mississippi Car Seat Laws?
Welcome to the Mississippi Car Seat Law Explained in Simple, Plain English!
If you’re looking for an easy-to-understand car seat law for the state of Mississippi, you’ve just found the right place.
I’m a mom of 3 darlings (mostly when they are asleep), and before that, I was a paralegal, so it comes as second nature to understand old, dry, stuffy law.
I thought I would create a simple straight to, point article about the current Mississippi laws for car seats.
No matter what your question might be, I’ve done my best to get you answers. So if you’re interested in booster seat law, rear or forward-facing, maybe when can your child sit in the front or what the seat law for taxis you will find your answers here.
Let’s get started already!
What Will I Learn?
- What are the Mississippi Car Seat Laws?
- Mississippi Booster Seat Laws
- Mississippi Rear-facing Car Seat Laws
- Mississippi Forward-facing Car Seat Laws
- Mississippi Taxi Car Seat Laws
- When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Mississippi?
- Mississippi Car Seat Laws at a Glance
- What is the law concerning Leaving kids in the Car in Mississippi?
- Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Mississippi?
- Conclusions on Mississippi Car Seat Laws
- Before going on a road trip to Louisiana, be sure to update yourself on the car seat laws
- Frequently Asked Questions:
- How old do you have to be for a booster seat in Mississippi?
- At what age, height, and weight must a child be secured in a booster seat?
- Can a child of four years old sit in booster seats?
- Do mississippi car seat laws mention when can a child sit in the front seat?
- What’s the best child restraint system for a 6 year old?
By reading this article you agree that it’s for informational purposes and I can’t be held liable for the best advice ask the appropriate person.
Mississippi Booster Seat Laws
The Mississippi Booster Seat Law is unique in a sense. If you have a child in the age range of 4 to 7 years old, they have to use a booster seat. Also, it’s specified that the booster seat should be used until the child reaches 57” or 65 pounds.
If we interpret the law by every letter, then it would mean that between 4 and 7, only booster seats can be used and nothing else.
Mississippi Rear-facing Car Seat Laws
The law is not specific about rear-facing car seats. So we should go with the expert advice to keep our kids rear-facing until the age of 2. After that, they can be moved to a forward-facing car seat.
Riding in rear-facing mode is the safest way for kids to travel.
Mississippi Forward-facing Car Seat Laws
Again the law does not specify when to move a child into a forward-facing seat. However, I would suggest keeping your child in rear-facing mode as long as possible or at least until the age of two.
Also, you can keep your child rear-facing until they outgrow that seat.
Mississippi Taxi Car Seat Laws
In the state of Mississippi, there are no laws that would make taxis exempt from car seat laws. This means that you have to follow them and bring your own car seat or arrange it ahead of time. Besides taxis, all ride-sharing services have to follow the car seat laws.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Mississippi?
Currently, there’s no law dictating when a child can sit in the front seat. If we want to keep our kids safe, my best advice would be when the seat belt can keep them safe. Typically this happens around the age of 12-13.
Mississippi Car Seat Laws at a Glance
Here’s the entire car seat law at one place
Car Seat Law (MCA 63-7-301)
Law: The law states that if you have a child under the age of 4, then you have to use the appropriate car seat or safety restraint that meets the federal motor vehicle safety standards.
- If you have kids between the ages of 4 and 7 and they are shorter than 57 inches and weigh less than 65 pounds, they have to use a booster seat that’s is federally approved. If we follow exactly the letter of the law, then forward-facing car seats that are appropriate by weight and height have to be replaced with a booster seat. This is quite weird and makes no sense.
Location in car: There are no laws dictating where a child can or can’t sit, so it’s up to you to decide which is the safest.
Taxi: In the state of Mississippi, there’s no current law that would exempt taxis from car seat laws. This means that you have to either bring your own car seat or arrange it ahead of time. Also, this law applies to ride-sharing services such as Uber, Lyft and others.
RideSafer legal: Yes, the RideSafer travel vest qualifies for children at least age 3 and 30 pounds.
Seat Belt Law
- Law: Passengers who are sitting in the front have to wear a seat belt so does kids in the 4 to 7-year-old age range.
- Fine: $25
- RVs: The law for RVs is the same as other vehicles. Passengers in the front have to wear and use the seat belt, and for kids, the car seat laws apply.
What is the law concerning Leaving kids in the Car in Mississippi?
At the moment, there are no laws against leaving kids in the car unattended. However, I highly recommend having an older child or taking them with you.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Mississippi?
At the moment, there’s no active law forbidding smoking while transporting kids. However, there was a bill that would’ve regulated it, but it was downvoted.
It’s a good idea not to smoke while driving kids around because secondhand smoke is known to cause disease.
Conclusions on Mississippi Car Seat Laws
We have reached the end of this article. I hope you have found what you have been looking for. I’ve covered everything there’s about Mississippi seat laws.
I did my best to skip the legal jargon and make it easy to understand. If you happen to have questions or maybe I’ve missed something, no problem, shoot me a message, and I will get back to you.
Maybe you can help me out by sharing this post so other parents can know exactly how to keep their kids safe and avoid fines in the process. Thank You!
Before going on a road trip to Louisiana, be sure to update yourself on the car seat laws
No matter how careful you are, accidents can happen. That’s why it’s important to know the Louisiana car seat laws. This will help you ensure that your children are as safe as possible when traveling in a car.
Frequently Asked Questions:
How old do you have to be for a booster seat in Mississippi?
The booster seat law in Mississippi is as follows. All kids in the age range of 4 to 7 must use the booster seat until they reach either 57” or weigh more than 65 pounds.
At what age, height, and weight must a child be secured in a booster seat?
A child can be secured in a booster seat from the age of 4 and have at least 40 pounds. They can use it until the age of 8 (depending on the brand and model) and before they reach 57 inches or 65 pounds.
Can a child of four years old sit in booster seats?
Yes four years old is the age limit when you can transition into booster seats according to seat laws in mississippi.
Do mississippi car seat laws mention when can a child sit in the front seat?
According to seat laws in mississippi there’s nothing specific. However the according to the state department of health the front seat should only be used by kids above 12 or 13 years old with seat belts. The thing is that front seats aren’t that safe for smaller kids in a child safety seat. Now if you don’t have a back row than you will have to install all car seats, booster seats and child restraint systems in the front seat.
What’s the best child restraint system for a 6 year old?
The best child restraint for a 6 year old are either seat belts or booster seats type car seats. You need to check if your child can safely use the seat belt or they still have to use car seats.
Last Updated on May 19, 2022