What are the Wisconsin Car Seat Laws?
Welcome to the Wisconsin Car Seat Law Explained in Simple, Plain English!
If you’re looking for the latest car seat laws for the state of Wisconsin, you’ve just found the perfect spot.
I used to be a paralegal before becoming a stay-at-home mom, so I have the skill to find the right laws fast and break them down so anyone can understand them.
After having 3 adorable angels (only when they sleep) and traveling a lot, I had to know many car seat laws.
So this is the reason why I’ve created this article to help out fellow parents. After reading this article, you will know exactly how to keep your kids safe in Wisconsin and avoid those fines.
You probably have some specific questions, such as the booster seat law, if taxis are exempt, or when you can transition from rear-facing to forward-facing. No biggie, I have an answer to all of these and more below.
Let’s get started already!
By reading this article you agree that it’s for informational purposes and I can’t be held liable for the best advice ask the appropriate person.
Wisconsin Booster Seat Laws
The booster seat law in the state of Wisconsin says that kids between the ages of 4 and 8 with a weight between 40 and 80 and is shorter than 57” have to use a booster seat.
Wisconsin Rear-facing Car Seat Laws
According to the law, all kids under the age of 1 and weighing less than 20 pounds have to be secured with a rear-facing car seat.
However, experts recommend keeping kids in rear-facing mode until the age of 2 because rear-facing is the safest ride.
The rear-facing car seat has to be installed in the back seat.
Wisconsin Forward-facing Car Seat Laws
According to the law, kids between the ages of 1 and 4 weighing 20 to 40 pounds should be secured in a federally approved forward-facing car seat in the rear seat.
Wisconsin Taxi Car Seat Laws
Taxis in the state of Wisconsin are exempt from the car seat laws mentioned above. This means that if you want to protect kids on even short trips, you have to bring your car seat.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Wisconsin?
The law doesn’t say it clearly when a child can sit in the front; however, both rear and forward-facing car seats must be installed in the back seat.
According to the Wisconsin government’s official page, they recommend that kids over 13 sit in the front.
Wisconsin Car Seat Laws at a Glance
Here you can find the entire law in one place:
Car Seat Law (Chapter 347.48.4)
Law: All kids under the age of 8 have to be secured the following way
- If your child is under the age of 1 or 20 pounds, they have to be secured with a federally approved rear-facing car seat in the back seat if there’s one.
- Suppose your child is in the age range of 1 to 4 or weighs 20 to 40 pounds. They have to be secured in a federally approved forward-facing car seat in the back seat if there’s one.
- If your child is in the age range of 4-8 and weighs 40 to 80 pounds and it’s shorter than 57”, then they have to be secured in a federally approved child booster seat.
Location in car: All kids under the age of 4 have to be secured in the back seat if there’s one.
Taxi: Taxis and ride-sharing services are exempt from the above-mentioned car seat laws. So if you want to keep your kids safe on short trips, you will have to bring your own car seat.
RideSafer legal: Yes. The Ride Safer travel vest qualifies for children who are at least age 3 and 30 pounds.
Fines: $175.30 passengers under 4 years, $150.10 passengers 4 to 7 years
Seat Belt Law
- Law: According to the law, all occupants must wear a seat belt.
- Fine: $20; $25 for passenger younger than 18
- RVs: The RV seat belt rules follow the general rule that all occupants need to wear the car seat, and for kids, the car seat laws apply.
What is the law concerning Leaving kids in the Car in Wisconsin?
There are no such laws that would govern if a child can be left unattended in a car. The AAP recommends that younger kids have at least one 12-year-old companion.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Wisconsin?
There are no laws to ban you from smoking in a vehicle while driving a child. However, I strongly suggest holding off smoking while transporting your kids because secondhand smoke is known for causing disease.
Conclusions on Wisconsin Car Seat Laws
We have reached the end of this article. By now, you have probably found the answers you’ve been looking for.
As I promised, I avoided lawyer speaking because I want all parents to know exactly which the right car seat is for their child.
Just in case you have questions or you have found something outdated, no problem, send me an email, and I will fix it.
Maybe you can help me out by sharing this post so other parents can know exactly how to keep their kids safe and avoid fines in the process. Thank You!
If you’re going to Illinois here’s what you need to know about car seat laws?
Since every state is different they so no wonder they have different rules when it comes to keeping your kids safe. Over here you can find the newest Illinois car seat laws to keep your kids safe.
Related: Michigan booster seat law
Are you taking your kids to Florida here’s how you keep them safe on the road?
Crossing state lines means new rules so here you can find the newest Florida car seat laws so you will know how to keep your little ones safe.
Frequently Asked Questions:
What is the law in Wisconsin for car seats?
According to Wisconsin car seat law, all kids below the age of 8 and shorter than 57 inches have to be secured in a car seat. If the child is under 1 year old, a rear-facing car seat is needed. If the child is between 1 and 4, a forward-facing car seat is needed, and between 4 and 8 booster seat is needed.
What are the requirements for a child to sit in the front seat in Wisconsin?
There are no laws that govern it; however, until the age of four, all car seats have to be installed in the back row. The Wisconsin government’s page recommends 13 years of age to sit in the front.
Who is a child passenger safety technician and what can they do?
A child passenger safety technician is a certified professional who can do car seat help. They can show you how to put a child safety seat (car seat safety) or a convertible car seat correctly in your motor vehicle according to wisconsin law. They can explain the wisconsin law regarding car seats in detail.
When can my child sit in the front seat?
According to Wisconsin law all kids younger than 4 years old have to be in the back seat. So this would mean the kids older than 4 years old can sit in the front seat (car seat children).
Last Updated on November 7, 2023 by Brian Beasley