What are the North Dakota Car Seat Laws?
Welcome to the North Dakota Car Seat Law Explained in Simple, Plain English!
I will share with you everything there’s to know about North Dakota car seat laws in an easy-to-understand parent language.
Laws are dry and boring, plus you have to search a lot to find them. This is why I’ve decided to look everything up for you to save you time and avoid fines while keeping your kids safe no matter what.
I used to be a paralegal, and I have a knack for translating complex language into simple and easy-to-understand. In this article, I will share with you about booster seat law, front rear-facing ages and, of course, the taxi law in North Dakota.
Now you will know exactly what the law dictates.
Let’s get started already!
What Will I Learn?
- What are the North Dakota Car Seat Laws?
- North Dakota Booster Seat Law
- North Dakota Rear-facing Car Seat Law
- North Dakota Forward-facing Car Seat Law
- North Dakota Taxi Car Seat Law
- When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in North Dakota?
- North Dakota Car Seat Laws at a Glance
- If you’re going to Minnesota here’s what you need to know about car seat laws
- Frequently Asked Questions:
By reading this article you agree that it’s for informational purposes and I can’t be held liable for the best advice ask the appropriate person.
North Dakota Booster Seat Law
The laws in North Dakota are a bit loose since they allow following car seat manufacturers’ recommendations.
When your child outgrows the forward-facing car seat, then the next step is the booster seat. The department of health from North Dakota recommends that kids who are at least 4 years old and weigh at least 40 pounds should use the booster seat.
You can either go with the car seat manufacturer’s recommendation or with the Department of Health.
North Dakota Rear-facing Car Seat Law
The car seat law is fairly short and to the point in North Dakota. There are no specifications for rear-facing. Only follow the manufacturer’s instructions.
Since we want to keep our kids as safe as possible and rear-facing is the safest way to ride, then I would say that at least until your child reaches 2 years old, they should be rear-facing. This is what the North Dakota Department of Health is recommending as well.
Also, if your child didn’t outgrow the rear-facing seat, keep them as long as possible.
North Dakota Forward-facing Car Seat Law
Basically, after the age of 2, you can turn your child around and let them sit in forward-facing mode. There are multiple car seats with all different limits. All you need to know is to check what’ the upper weight and height limit for forward-facing, and after that, you can upgrade to the final stage, which is booster mode.
North Dakota Taxi Car Seat Law
In North Dakota, taxis are not exempt from the car seat law. This means that you either bring your car seat or arrange it ahead of time. And by taxi, I would like to include ride-sharing services such as Uber and Lyft.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in North Dakota?
There’s no straight law forbidding having children in the front seat at any age. In this case, disable the front airbag and follow the manufacturer’s recommendations.
The AAP and North Dakota Department of health recommend that only kids above 13 years of age ride in the front.
North Dakota Car Seat Laws at a Glance
Here’s the entire law at a glance:
Car Seat Law (Code Chapter 39-21-41.2)
Law: All kids under the age of 8 have to use a car seat according to the manufacturer’s recommendations. So until the age of 8, the car seat is mandatory.
- Suppose your child is younger than age 8; however, it is tall, meaning they are over the 57” limit, then they can use the seat belt or other child restraint devices. This means that if you have a tall child, you can skip the car seat and use the vehicle’s seat belt.
- If you have a child between the ages of 8 and 17, you can use either the seat belt or other child restraints to keep them safe.
Location in car: There are no specifications on where a child should seat.
Taxi: Taxis in North Dakota are not exempt from the above laws.
RideSafer legal: Yes. Yes, it is legal and can be used with kids who are at least 3 years and weigh 30 pounds.
The Seat Belt Law
- Law: All people staying in the front must wear seat belts.
- Fine: $20; $25 for passenger younger than 18
- RVs: For RVs, you need to follow the above law as in all front-seat passengers have to use the vehicle’s seat belt
What is the law concerning Leaving kids in the Car in North Dakota
The last time I’ve checked, there were no laws about leaving your child unattended in the car. This doesn’t mean that the ever-watchful eye of the law wouldn’t mind fining you for child neglect.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in North Dakota?
There are no active laws that forbid smoking in the car while kids are riding with you. However, I strongly suggest holding off your smoking because second-hand smoking is known as, killer.
Conclusions on North Dakota Car Seat Laws
We have reached the end of this article. I hope you have found exactly what you’re looking for, and now you know how to keep your kids safe.
I’ve covered everything there’s about car seat laws in North Dakota. If I happen to miss something, let me know, and I will update it as soon as possible.
Maybe you can help me out by sharing this post so other parents can know exactly how to keep their kids safe and avoid fines in the process. Thank You!
If you’re going to Minnesota here’s what you need to know about car seat laws
Since every state is different they so no wonder they have different rules when it comes to keeping your kids safe. Over here you can find the newest Minnesota car seat laws to keep your kids safe.
Frequently Asked Questions:
What is the booster seat law in North Dakota?
There’s no exact law for booster seats only following manufacturer’s recommendations, however, North Dakota’s Department of Health recommends the use of booster seats from the age of 4 and minimum weight of 40 pounds.
What’s the age and weight limit for car seats?
In North Dakota, there’s just one age limit which says that any child under the age of 8 should be secured with a car seat following the manufacturer’s recommendations.
How long should my kid stay in a booster seat?
Typically kids stay in a booster seat anywhere from 4 up to 12 years, depending on the car seat. You have to periodically check if your child didn’t outgrow the car seat. If they did, then check if they are big and tall enough for the car’s seat belt.
Do 8-year-olds use car seats?
For the state of North Dakota under the age of 8, you have to use a car seat following the manufacturer’s guidelines. Above the age of 8, it depends on the height and weight of your child.
What is the appropriate child restraint system for a 4 year old?
For a 4 years old the appropriate child restraint system would be booster seats or convertible car seats according to the north dakota department of health. Also preferably the back seat should be used to install these car seats and child restraint system. Children younger than 4 should use forward facing car seats and children younger than 2 need rear facing car seats according to the north dakota department of health and the north dakota state government. All these car seats should be installed on the back seat so in case of a car accident they get the maximum protection.
When can the shoulder belt be used?
When your child is above 8 years old or taller than 57 inches you can use the lap belt, shoulder belt or the seat belts.
Last Updated on May 19, 2022 by Danny Reid