What are the Maine Car Seat Laws?
Welcome to the Maine Car Seat Law Explained in Simple, Plain English!
You have just found the perfect place to know everything there’s about car seat laws in the state of Maine.
I know for a fact that it’s hard to find car seat laws, plus the language is dry lawyer jargon. This is why I’ve decided to put together this short article to answer all your questions regarding car seats.
You see, I’m a mother of 3 perfect angles (in their sleep), and I used to be a paralegal, so I understand the law language. Many of my readers are sleep-deprived parents, so I’m using all my skills to make it as easy to understand as possible.
No matter what your question might be about car seats, I have it covered. I’ve talked with many parents before I’ve put together this article. You name it, I have the answer for booster car seats, rear and forward-facing rules, and I even cover taxis and other things as well. Dig in, and you will know exactly how to keep your child safe and sound and avoid fines.
Let’s get started already!
By reading this article you agree that it’s for informational purposes and I can’t be held liable for the best advice ask the appropriate person.
Maine Booster Seat Laws
The law is quite clear about booster seats in the state of Maine. If your child is below the age of 8 and is shorter than 57 inches and weighs less than 80 pounds they have to be secured in a booster car seat.
Maine Rear-facing Car Seat Laws
Again the law is bright as day, saying that kids under the age of 2 have to be riding in a rear-facing car seat. This rear-facing car seat can be an infant carrier or a convertible in rear-facing mode.
Maine Forward-facing Car Seat Laws
Your child can be upgraded into forward-facing mode if they are older than 2 years old and weigh less than 55 pounds. In this age bracket, the 5 point harness is an absolute must.
Maine Taxi Car Seat Laws
According to car seat laws in the state of Maine, taxis are exempt from the above-mentioned car seat laws.
However, it’s always best to bring your car seat because accidents are unpredictable.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Maine?
According to the state law, any child above the age of 12 who weighs more than 100 pounds can sit in the front. Otherwise, they have to sit in the back.
Maine Car Seat Laws at a Glance
Here you can find the entire law in one place:
Car Seat Law (MRS 2081)
Law: The car seat law in the state of Main says the following
- If you have a child who’s under the age of 2, they have to be in a rear-facing car seat. This car seat can be a carrier or a convertible car seat in rear-facing mode. If your child happens to outgrown this car seat, then you can transform the seat into forward-facing mode.
- Suppose your child is more than 2 and weighs less than 55 pounds, then they have to be in such a car seat that fits your child and obey the manufacturer’s recommendations.
- If your child is under the age of 8 and weighs less than 80 pounds and is shorter than 57”, then they have to be secured either by a booster seat or RideSafer.
- In all other cases, while the child is younger than 18 years, they have to be secured with the help of the seat belt.
Location in car: All kids under the age of 12 who weigh less than 100 pounds should be sitting in the back seat if it’s possible.
Taxi: Taxis in the state of Maine are exempt from the car seat laws above. All in all, if you want to keep your child safe, make sure you bring your car seat because you can never know.
RideSafer legal: Yes. The Ride Safer travel vest qualifies for children at least age 3 and 30 pounds.
Fines: $50 for first offense
Seat Belt Law
- Law: All occupants are required to wear seat belts.
- Fine: $50
- RVs: All occupants must wear seat belts; children require child restraints.
What is the law concerning Leaving kids in the Car in Alaska
Currently, there are no laws prohibiting leaving your child unattended in the car. In the best case, you should have someone older than 12 or take your child with you.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Maine?
Yes, it’s illegal to smoke in a car while a child who’s under the age of 15 is riding.
Car Seat Laws in Maine Conclusions
We have reached the end of this article. I hope you’ve found what you’ve been looking for. I’ve done my best to explain the lawyer jargon into simple to digest chunks of info.
Now you know how to keep your kids safe no matter what. Just in case I’ve missed out on something, let me know, and I will sure to fix it as soon as possible.
Maybe you can help me out by sharing this post so other parents can know exactly how to keep their kids safe and avoid fines in the process. Thank You!
If you are going to Massachusetts, here is some information about car seat laws
Each state has different laws when it comes to keeping kids safe. Here are the latest Massachusetts car seat laws for your state.
Here are some tips on how to keep your kids safe when you are driving to Florida
If you are crossing state lines, make sure you know the new Florida car seat laws. This will help keep your children safe while traveling.
Frequently Asked Questions:
When can a child stop using a booster seat in Maine?
In the state of Maine, children can stop using a booster seat when they reach the age of 8, or they are taller than 57 inches.
When can a child face forward in a car seat in Maine?
According to Maine law, if a child is older than 2 and weighs less than 55 pounds, they should be in a forward-facing car seat.
How much does a child have to weigh to sit without a car seat?
In the state of Maine, if a child weighs more than 80 pounds, they car ride without a car seat.
How long can you use a child safety seat?
Typically a child safety seat has an expiration date. When it’s reached you have to stop using it according to the national highway traffic safety.
Who is a child passenger safety technician and what can they do?
A child passenger safety technician can help you pick the right child restraint systems for kids at any years of age in a motor vehicle. They will also make sure that child restraint system the properly secured. Also they can also advise on the proper use a seat belt or seat belts. They can answer all car seats related questions.
Last Updated on May 31, 2022 by Danny Reid