What are the Kentucky Car Seat Laws?
Welcome to the Kentucky Car Seat Law Explained in Simple, Plain English!
You have found the perfect place where you can brush up on car seat laws in the state of Kentucky.
Being a mom of 3 adorable angels (mostly in their sleep) and with my paralegal background, I know how to find the right laws and interpret them.
This is why I’ve decided to put together this article to make it as easy as possible to know how to keep your kids safe and avoid those fines.
I know that many parents who read my blog are sleep-deprived, so I thought of you because I know how it is. So the language I use is not lawyer jargon, only plain and easy-to-understand English.
No matter what your question might be, I’ve got all bases covered. Maybe you want to know the booster seat laws, when you can transition your child from rear-facing into the forward-facing mode or if you need a car seat with a taxi. All these and more are answered below.
Let’s get started already!
By reading this article you agree that it’s for informational purposes and I can’t be held liable for the best advice ask the appropriate person.
Kentucky Booster Seat Laws
The booster seat law in the state of Kentucky is quite clear, and it says that any child below the age of 8 who is in the height range of 40” to 57” has to be secured in a booster seat.
Once they are older than 8 or taller than 57”, they can be upgraded to the seat belt install.
Kentucky Rear-facing Car Seat Laws
The law says that kids under the height of 40” have to be secured in the appropriate car seat. Also, the Kentucky Office of Highway Safety mentions that kids under the age of 1 who weigh less than 20 pounds should be in a rear-facing car seat.
If you want to be extra protective, then I would suggest keeping your child rear-facing until the age of 2 because that’s the safest way to ride.
Kentucky Forward-facing Car Seat Laws
There’s no exact law for forward-facing car seats, so we must use what the manufacturers recommend. In this case, after your child has outgrown their rear-facing car seat, then you can upgrade them to a forward-facing one.
Kentucky Taxi Car Seat Laws
The taxis and ride-sharing services in Kentucky are not exempt from the car seat rules mentioned above. This means that you either provide the car seat or arrange it ahead of time with the company.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Kentucky?
There’s no active law governing this aspect, so according to the Kentucky Department of Transportation, their recommendation would be anyone above the age of 12.
Kentucky Car Seat Laws at a Glance
Here you can find the entire law in one place:
Car Seat Law (KRS 189.125)
Law: Suppose you have a child who is 40 inches or lower. They must be secured with the appropriate car seat that meets FMVSS 213.
- If your child is under the age of 8 and their height is between 40 and 57 inches tall, they need to be secured by a booster seat.
- Suppose your child is 57 inches tall at any age means that they can ride without a car seat, and they have to be secured by the seat belt.
Location in car: There’s no law governing where a child can sit within the vehicle.
Taxi: Taxis are not exempt from the car seat rules above. This means to keep your child safe, you will need to bring your own car seat or arrange it ahead of time.
RideSafer legal: Yes. The Ride Safer travel vest qualifies for children at least age 3 and 30 pounds.
Fines: $50 for child restraint; $25 for a booster seat
Seat Belt Law
- Law: All people in the vehicle have to wear a seat belt.
- Fine: $25
- RVs: RVs follow the above-mentioned seat belt law because everyone has to wear one, and kids need the appropriate car seat.
What is the law concerning Leaving kids in the Car in Kentucky?
The law is not for prevention. It’s just punishment. It says the following if a child under the age of 8 dies in a car because it was unattended, then manslaughter charges will be filed.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Kentucky?
There’s no statewide ban on smoking while driving kids. However, there are places like Shepherdsville which have banned this type of smoking. So the best thing to do is ask your local health department for guidance.
Conclusions on Kentucky Car Seat Laws
We have reached the end of this article. By now, you should’ve found the answers you’ve been looking for.
You see, I’ve intentionally kept everything simple, so any parent understands it from the get-go what the law says. If you happen to have questions or tips, feel free to reach out, and I will get back to you.
Maybe you can help me out by sharing this post so other parents can know exactly how to keep their kids safe and avoid fines in the process. Thank You!
Related: Car seat requirements in Indiana
If you are going to Tennessee, here is some information about car seat laws
Each state has different laws when it comes to keeping kids safe. Here are the latest Tennessee car seat laws for your state.
Frequently Asked Questions:
What is the booster seat law in Kentucky?
The Kentucky booster seat law says the following: any child under the age of 8 who is in the height bracket of 40 and 57 inches has to be secured in a booster car seat.
What are the requirements for a child to ride in the front seat in Kentucky?
There’s no concrete law that would ban kids sitting in the front. However, the Kentucky Department of Transportation recommends that only kids above the age of 12 should sit in the front.
What is the weight and age of booster seats?
The weight and age of booster seats depend on the brand and models. Some brands require the age of 4, while others only require 40 inches in height. As for weight the upper limit is 80 pounds.
Who’s a child passenger safety technician and what can they do?
A child passenger safety technician is an certified expert who can help you with recommending and installing child safety seats in a motor vehicle. If you don’t know which child restraint system should you get they can advise you on the right car seats. The will make sure that you have secured in a child properly on the back seat let it be by a child restraint system or seat belts for any years old.
Is there a kentucky car seat law for sitting in the front?
Currently there is no law in kentucky or laws in kentucky that would ban sitting in the front. All you have to do is to make sure that the airbag is deactivated if you have younger than 2 year old in the front. However the kentucky car seat law does state that only kids who are 8 years old should sit in a booster seat. So it’s safe to assume that kids under 8 years old need to be in the back with the appropriate car seats.
Last Updated on November 7, 2023 by Brian Beasley