What are Georgia Car Seat Law?

 

Welcome to the Georgia Car Seat Law Explained in Simple, Plain English!

georgia-car-seat-laws

You have found just the place where you can learn everything there’s about car seat laws in the state of Georgia.

Look:

Being a mom of 3 adorable angles (when they are a sleep, mostly…) and having a paralegal background, it’s easy for me to find the right laws in a matter of seconds.

This is why I’ve decided to create this article to help all those parents out there who need help with lawyers speak. By reading this article to the end, you will know exactly how to protect your child on the roads and how to avoid fines because I will be using simple and actionable language.

Not only that, I will give you exact answers for the most common questions like what is the booster seat law, when can you move to a forward-facing car seat or if you need a car seat if riding in a taxi. Dig in!

Let’s get started already!

 

By reading this article you agree that it’s for informational purposes and I can’t be held liable for the best advice ask the appropriate person.

 

Georgia Booster Seat Laws

Georgia-Booster-Seat-Laws

There’s no booster seat law for the state of Georgia per se. However, there’s a blanket law that states that kids under the age of 8 have to use the appropriate car seat.

This means that we have to go with the manufacturer’s recommendations. In this case, between the ages of 4 and 8, a child can use the booster seat.

Also, the law states that kids over the age of 8 or taller than 57 inches can be secured with a seat belt.

 

Georgia Rear-facing Car Seat Laws

Following the blanket law, we have to check the manufacturer’s recommendations. So a rear-facing car seat can be used from birth until the age of 1 or 2. However, many experts recommend keeping kids rear-facing as long as possible because this is the safest way for them to ride.

Also, the recommended minimum age is 2 years old for rear-facing.

 

Georgia Forward-facing Car Seat Laws

Again we have to look at the manufacturer’s recommendation, and this means that from the age of 1 up to 4, a child can use a forward facing car seat.

I highly recommend not rushing to upgrade because rear-facing is the safest riding position.

 

Georgia Taxi Car Seat Laws

In the state of Georgia, taxis are exempt from the car seat laws mentioned above. This means that you have to bring your own car seat if you want to keep your kids safe on short rides.

 

When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Georgia?

According to the law, kids under the age of 8 have to seat in the back seat. Also, experts recommend that only kids above the age of 13 should sit in the front.

 

Georgia Car Seat Laws at a Glance

Here you can find the entire law in one place:

Car Seat Law (O.C.G.A. § 40-8-76)

Law: According to the law, all kids under the age of 8 have to be secured by the appropriate car seat that meets Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 213.

  • If your child is under the age of 8 but has a height above 57 inches, then they can use the adult seat belt.
  • The lap-only belt can be used instead of a car safety seat if your child is above 40 pounds if the situation demands it (for example younger children so they can get the best protection).

Location in car: According to the law, kids who are younger than 8 years old should be sitting in the back seat. If the situation demands it, they can sit in the front in a car safety seat or booster seat.

Taxi: Taxis are exempt from the above-mentioned car seat rule. So if you want to keep your kids safe on short trips, make sure you bring your own car seat.

RideSafer legal: Yes. The Ride Safer travel vest qualifies for children who are at least age 3 and 30 pounds.

Fines: $50

Seat Belt Law

  • Law: According to the law, all front occupants and kids between the ages of 8 to 18 have to wear a seat belt.
  • Fine: $15
  • RVs: The RV seat belt rule follows the general one as in all front occupants, and kids between the ages of 8 and 18 have to wear a seat belt. For kids, the car seat laws apply.

 

What is the law concerning Leaving kids in the Car in Georgia?

There are no laws that would ban leaving kids unattended in a vehicle. However, I recommend that at least have a 12-year-old next to them.

 

Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Georgia?

There are no laws currently in place to ban smoking in vehicles where kids are riding. However, in 2019 there was a bill initiated, and it wasn’t written into a law yet.

 

Conclusions on Georgia Car Seat Laws

We have reached the end of this article. As I promised, I’ve kept everything simple and to the point. By now, you should know exactly how to keep your kids safe and avoid fines.

I hope you have gotten all the answers that you’ve been looking for. Just in case you have some questions, or you want more clarity to, shoot me a message, and I will do my best to get back to you.

Maybe you can help me out by sharing this post so other parents can know exactly how to keep their kids safe and avoid fines in the process. Thank You!

 

Are you thinking about visiting Florida?

To keep your children safe, you must know and follow the Florida car seat laws. I’ve done all I can to provide you with up-to-date rules.

Related: Booster seat requirements Alabama

 

Frequently Asked Questions:

Do 7-year-olds need car seats?

Yes, 7-year-olds in the state of Georgia will need to use a car seat if they have shorter than 57”.

At what age does a child not need a car seat?

According to Georgia car seat laws, kids over the age of 8 won’t need a car seat.

Does my 7-year-old need a booster seat?

Yes, in the state of Georgia, your 7-year-old will need a booster seat if they are shorter than 57”.

Does an 8-year-old need a car seat?

No, in the state of Georgia an 8-year-old won’t need a car seat.

Who’s a child passenger safety technician?

A child passenger safety technician is a certified person who knows how to install car seats such as: rear facing car seats, booster seats (booster seat). Also they can give you plenty of advice.

How long can I use rear facing car seats?

Typically you can use rear facing car seats until your child reaches the height and weight limits set by the car seat manufacturer. Georgia law dictates that the proper car seat (car seats) is needed for the right age. If your infant car seat is outgrown then you can go with a convertible car seat in rear facing mode. These car seats have  long shelf life.

Is a booster seat suitable for the front seat?

According to georgia law a booster seat can be used on the front seat if there’s no back row or it is occupied by a younger child’s car seat.

When can I switch to a lap belt or shoulder belt securing?

According to Georgia law if a car seat is too little or the seat belt fits properly then the lap and shoulder belt can be used.

 

Last Updated on May 30, 2022 by Danny Reid